#  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z         ALL

Pell, Axel Rudi


The Ballads III

Year: 2004
Format: CD
Label: Steamhammer
Genre: [Melodic Rock Ballad/Hard Rock]
Overall Rating: 7.5
Music: 7.5
Production: 8.0

I've always considered the ballads Axel Rudi Pell has composed to be hist best compositions. However, not all of them are as felicitous as others... This album 'The Ballads III' contains some of his best ballads and 3 new ones as well. The 3 new recorded songs are 'Don't Say Goodbye', acoustic version of the sleeper hit 'Forever Angel' and the Rainbow cover 'The Temple of the King'.

Songs are rock ballads with lots of acoustic guitar passages and occasional synth parts backing up the atmosphere. The quality of songs varies a bit, and some songs are just better than others (for example, 'Under the Gun' is one of the highlights). I must comment on Johnny Gioeli, who has a really memorable, classic hard rock voice (which epitomizes hard rock).

Production is quite divericate. There are few clips that interrupt the flow of listening. Another unfortunate detail regards the drums, which didn't sound authentic. Also some distorted rhythm guitar parts could have sounded better. Otherwise the mix is really good.

Fans of Axel Rudi Pell may already have most of the songs featured on this CD, and they should consider if the 3 new recordings are worth buying. However, those who don't have Axel's earlier albums might find this release worthwhile.

Release date 25.10.2004 in Europe, Spring 2005 in USA

Visit Artist's Website

- MAGE (23.10.2004)


Gioeli, Johnny: Lead and Backing Vocals
Pell, Axel Rudi: Lead-, Rhythm- and Acoustic Guitars
Doernbergm Ferdy: Keyboards and Additional Acoustic Guitar on Forever Angel (Acoustic)
Krawczak, Volker: Bass and Additional Acoustic Guitar on Forever Angel (Acoustic)
Terrana, Mike: Drums and Percussion
Producer: Unavailable
Mixing by: Unavailable
Mastering by: Unavailable
Pell, Axel Rudi - The Ballads III  CD  Cover Image
01. Don't Say Goodbye
02. Forever Angel (Acoustic)
03. The Temple of the King
04. Heartbreaker
05. The Line
06. Sea of Evil
07. The Curse of the Chains
08. All the Rest of My Life
09. Forever Angel
10. The Temple of the Holy
11. Under the Gun
  by rating
  by date
  privacy policy
  terms of service