#  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z         ALL

Airged L'amh


The Silver Arm

Year: 2004
Format: CD
Label: Black Lotus
Genre: [Epic Heavy Metal/Folk]
Overall Rating: 7.0
Music: 7.0
Production: 6.5

The Greek metal band Airged L'amh was originally formed as a school band (under the name Ragarok) but later they decided to change the name, because there were 2 other bands having the same name. The band's name, Airged L'amh, is Gaelic and in English it means "The Silver Arm". As the title "The Silver Arm" suggests, this is their debut album (they have previously released only a demo titled as "A Vertigo Edda Arise").

The Silver Arm is based on a concept, which tells a story of "an ancient Celtic legend with the tribe of Tuathe de Dannan and the silver arm of king Nuada". It's quite apparent that Airged L'amh is influenced by Virgin Steele and Metallica. The songs on "the Silver Arm" are quite basic epic metal with occasional barbaric roars, melodic twin-guitar melodies and occasional synth melodies. The songs aren't very original, but at least they are quite well composed.

Production is the weakest link of this album. The sounds could have been better, and the distortion and clipping that occurred every now and then isn't desirable either. However, the production isn't horrendous... It just could have been much better.

With a better production this album would have been quite good... I don't believe this album will stand out from the other releases in this genre, as most of them do have better production... However, if you don't care about the production so much, this album is definitely worth checking out.

Visit Artist's Website

- MAGE (26.11.2004)



Venardo, Steve: Vocals

Vasilopoulos, Alexander: Guitar

Sofikitis, George: Guitar

Tsimas, John Luna: Bass

Thanasopoulos, George: Drums
Producer: Unavailable
Mixing by: Unavailable
Mastering by: Unavailable
Airged L'amh - The Silver Arm  CD  Cover Image
01. Intro/Guardian of the Ancient Deeds
02. Fate of the King
03. Dissention Seeds
04. Warp Spasm
05. Mourning Grief
06. The Silver Arm
07. Balor of the Evil Eye
08. The Arrival
09. Armies Assemble
10. Splendor Divine
11. Painless Vengeance
12. End Domain
13. Homeland
  by rating
  by date
  privacy policy
  terms of service