#  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z  Å  Ä  Ö    ALL

Fall of the Leafe


Volvere [Digipack Edition]

Year: 2005
Format: CD
Label: Firebox
Genre: [Melodic Scandinavian Metal/US Metal/Atmospheric Gothic Rock/Progressive Metal/Death Metal]
Overall Rating: 7.5
Music: 7.0
Production: 8.0

The fourth Fall of the Leafe album, Volvere, is re-issued by Finnish metal label Firebox Records. In addition to standard jewel case edition of the album, there's a digipack edition available. This review is based on the digipack edition, which has two bonus tracks. Hence Volvere contains over 53 (standard) or 62 (digipack) minutes of music.

Fall of the Leafe used to be melodic death metal band... However, only traces of their death metal origin can be heard on 'Volvere'. Stylistically their music is a blend of progressive rock, US metal, melodic scandinavian metal and atmospheric gothic rock. As mentioned earlier, one can also hear traces of death metal in Fall of the Leafe's music. Actually the last bonus track 'Mostly Ashes' is a death metal song.

Lyrically Volvere contains short excerpts of prose. With sarcastic grip the lyrics handle the wrongs of the world. The lyrics keep the listener intrigued to listen the whole album. Music, on the other hand, is a tad uninteresting. At all times, the music sounds a bit monotonous. To call Fall of the Leafe as progressive metal band is exaggeration. Their music is at times progressive, but the whole album resides more on the "easily" approachable material. To give their music more progressive impression, they use melancholic guitar melodies in the vein of Katatonia and the like.

Volvere has been produced rather well. It has been recorded and mixed at Popstudio by Mika Haapasalo, but the mastering took place at Finnvox by Mika Jussila. However, mixing could have been somewhat better regarding few aspects. Also the fact that some guitar parts had occasionally background distortion is unfortunate.

Release date: January 2005

Visit Artist's Website

- MAGE (20.01.2005)

« back

Tuominen, Tuomas: Vocals
Hänninen, Jussi: Guitars, Bass
Gustafsson, Kaj: Guitars
Hannuniemi: Petri: Keyboards
Aaltonen, Matias: Drums
Producer: Haapasalo, Mika & Fall of the Leafe
Mixing by: Haapasalo, Mika
Mastering by: Jussila, Mika
Fall of the Leafe - Volvere [Digipack Edition]  CD  Cover Image
01. A Waiting Room Snap
02. If Mirrors Leave Men in Crumbs
03. Enemy Simulator
04. Pillar of the Sun
05. Song from the Second Floor
06. More Like a Situation
07. Hell's Silence
08. Big Ol' Fat Rain Inside
09. Security Locks Are Good
10. Guilt Threat
11. Cut the Smoke
12. Bleak Picture (Bonus)
13. Mostly Ashes (Bonus)
  by rating
  by date
  privacy policy
  terms of service