#  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z         ALL

Dark Nova



Year: 2005
Format: CD
Label: Black Lotus
Genre: [Heavy Metal/Power Metal/Progressive Metal]
Overall Rating: 7.0
Music: 7.0
Production: 7.0

Dark Nova's history dates back to 1987 when the band was formed under the name of "Dark Devils". Regardless, this is their third album (one could say the band isn't quite productive). In the beginning Dark Nova mixed heavy metal with classical music, but nowadays their music is more reminiscent to that of power metal. However, some traces of classical music are still left in their music. In addition to power metal, Dark Nova blends some modern metal and traditional heavy metal elements in their music as well.

The material on Sivilla varies a bit... Occasionally the material is rather apposite, but on the other hand there's also room for improvement every now and then. At times the music is even progressive, and thus different time signatures get introduced. From time to time the band is rather inventive with their music, so Sivilla doesn't become repetitive to listen, and thus the listener stays intrigued throughout the whole album. The overall sound of the album is a bit dark as the band name suggests.

Production-wise Sivilla is ok... The sounds could be a bit more powerful and distinctive, but overall there's not much to complain about. The cymbals contain a bit sizzle, so there's some room for improvement regarding that department as well. The mastering of this album took place at the famous Athens Mastering studio.

All in all, Dark Nova's Sivilla falls between the mediocre and good metal album. It has its moments, but in the long run the album loses its appeal.

Visit Artist's Website

- MAGE (March 27th, 2005)


Koskoris, Elias: Guitars
Adams, Nick: Drums
Choulakis, Michael: Vocals
Tassouli, Mary: Keyboards
Kiki (Lara): Bass
Producer: Unavailable
Mixing by: Unavailable
Mastering by: Athens Mastering
Dark Nova - Sivilla  CD  Cover Image
01. Avernus (instrumental)
02. Come into My Nightmare
03. Desperate Act
04. Sivilla
05. El Cant de la Sibil (instrumental)
06. In a Cevasse of Time
07. Flight to the Unknown
08. Out of the Silence
09. Reach for the Sky
10. Say No More
11. A Drifter in Stillness
12. Too Late to Hide

Length: 48:44
  by rating
  by date
  privacy policy
  terms of service