#  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z         ALL

Beyond Twilight


Section X

Year: 2005
Format: CD
Label: Massacre / Replica / Intromental
Genre: [Atmospheric Metal/Progressive Metal]
Overall Rating: 9.0
Music: 9.0
Production: 8.5

There are some artists whose upcoming releases always intrigue me, and Beyond Twilight belongs to that category although they have only released one album until now. Section X is the second Beyond Twilight album, and it introduces us a new singer - instead of the speculated Russell Allen, Kelly Sundown Carpenter (Outworld) steps into Jrn Lande's shoes. Already from the beginning of the album, it becomes clear that Carpenter is a great substitute for Lande. He has ear for freaky yet catchy vocal lines in addition to his strong soaring voice, which is occasionally even reminiscent to that of Jrn Lande's. The line-up on this album also features the well-known Danish producer Jacob Hansen (Invocator) playing the rhythm guitar.

The music of Beyond Twilight is dark, atmospheric metal with some progressive elements thrown in as well. Especially one of Beyond Twilight's strengths is their "signature" sound, which is based on Zierler's evocative synth work and the guitarists' melodically haunting riffs. As always Finn Zierler decided to write this album in total solitude... however, this time he sought inspiration from various locations: partly he was locked in an attic, submerged under water and living on the dark streets of London. This journey was well worth the trouble, since Zierler has come up with yet again weird scinematic metal album that keeps the listener interested throughout the whole album.

Production on Section X is rather good. The album was mixed at Jailhouse Studios by Finn Zierler and Tommy Hansen. The sounds are suitably atmospheric yet there's also some raw power present on the mix. The only complaints regarding production concern the small background distortion which is occasionally audible.

Section X is definitely album worth checking out in case you've listened to Beyond Twilight or Twilight in the past or you're a fan of this specific genre. Actually this is thinking man's metal, so I challenge you to give this album a listen and see if it's for you.

Release date: March 29th, 2005

There are samples of "The Path Of Darkness", "Sleeping Beauty", "The Dark Side" and "Ecstasy Arise" on the official Beyond Twilight website for you to listen.

Visit Artist's Website

- MAGE (March 28th, 2005)


Carpenter, Kelly Sundown: Vocals
Zierler, Finn: Keyboards
Hansen, Jacob: Rhythm Guitar
Lindgren, Anders: Guitars
Kragh, Anders Exo: Guitars
Freden, Thomas: Drums
Producer: Zierler, Finn
Mixing by: Zierler, Finn & Hansen, Tommy
Mastering by: Hansen, Tommy
Beyond Twilight - Section X  CD  Cover Image
01. Be Careful It's My Head Too
02. The Path of Darkness
03. Shadow Self
04. Sleeping Beauty
05. The Dark Side
06. Portrait F in Dark Waters
07. Ecstasy Arise
08. Section X

Length: 44:48
  by rating
  by date
  privacy policy
  terms of service