#  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z  Å  Ä  Ö    ALL

Russell Allen's Atomic Soul


Atomic Soul

Year: 2005
Format: CD
Label: InsideOut
Genre: [Rock]
Overall Rating: 9.0
Music: 9.0
Production: 8.5

Russell Allen is known as the frontman of progressive metal band Symphony X. Now he has composed and arranged a debut album full of traditionally rocking songs in the vein of Rainbow, Dio, Led Zeppelin and Black Sabbath. He also played guitars and keyboards proficiently and produced the album. Guest musicians include fellow SyX members, his friends and the one and only, Jens Johansson on one song.

Right from the beginning you can hear that this album's soul is in back to the roots -attitude, sort of a tribute to Russell's heroes. The album doesn't have any weak moments. There are few mediocre songs, but Russell's performance shines on every song and floats them easily. My personal favorites include ”Voodoo Hand” with its killer groove, catchy vocals and killer harmonies. ”The Distance” is the pop hit of the album with its soft and somewhat sad guitars. Then there's ”Gaia”, the most SyX influenced (can I say influenced in this context) song, with Russell's trademark vocals and theatrical approach. ”We Will Fly” is this album's epic song with guest performance by Michael Pinnella. It has nice progressive touch and nice blend of traditional and modern riffin', reminiscenting partly SyX's ”Through The Looking Glass”.

The production of this album has been on professional hands. No wonder, it's recorded in Symphony X's own Dungeon studio. The guitar sounds on this album are more modern than you could expect. Few times I find that the guitar tracks are left too dynamic for my taste, but on the other hand in ”The Distance” the guitars somehow are dynamically so alive that they speak along with Russell's vocals. Mr. Allen has produced the album well, there aren't anything missing or too much. The mastering is also professionally handled, no clips what so ever. Nice.

Overall this album once again proves that Russell Allen has one of the most dominant voices in the business, not only in the progressive metal scene. Allen's chameleontic voice and hearable atomic soul makes this album a recommend buy for any rock fan.

Release date: April 25th, 2005

- TINK (April 12th, 2005)

« back

Allen, Russell: Vocals, Guitar, Bass, Keyboards
Nelson, Robert: Drums

Pinnella, Michael: Keyboards
Anthony, Brendan: Guitar
Johansson, Jens: Keyboard Solo on 'Atomic Soul'
Freudberg, Jason: Guitar & Bass
Salvatore, Larry: Guitar & Bass
Romeo, Michael: Guitars & Bass
Producer: Allen, Russell
Mixing by: Unavailable
Mastering by: Unavailable
Russell Allen's Atomic Soul - Atomic Soul  CD  Cover Image
01. Blackout
02. Unjustified
03. Voodoo Hand
04. Angel
05. The Distance
06. Seasons of Insanity
07. Gaia
08. Loosin' You
09. Saucey Jack
10. We Will Fly
11. Atomic Soul

Length: 50:11
  by rating
  by date
  privacy policy
  terms of service