#  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z         ALL

Thorne, Steve


Emotional Creatures: Part One

Year: 2005
Format: CD
Label: Giant Electric Pea
Genre: [Progressive Rock/Soft Rock/Melodic Rock/Folk]
Overall Rating: 8.5
Music: 8.5
Production: 9.0

Steve Thorne has gained surprisingly much praise among the public although he hasn't released any albums (well, not until now). Nonetheless, he has performed live with his band The Salamander Project. Thus the Hampshire based singer/songwriter has managed to attract a wide array of special guest musicians to play on his debut album. Some of these guests include Tony Levin (Peter Gabriel, King Crimson, Liquid Tension Experiment), Nick D'Virgilio (Genesis, Spock's Beard, Tears for Fears), Geoff Downes (Yes, Asia, Buggles), Martin Orford (IQ, Jadis), Paul Cook (IQ, Jadis) and John Jowitt (Arena, IQ, Jadis). However, it's well worth noting that Steve Thorne himself played the majority of instruments on this album.

The music on this album is a blend of progressive rock, melodic soft rock and folk. Thorne's influences vary from Genesis, Jethro Tull, Peter Gabriel, Rush and Tears of Fears to modern day music. Although the songs are somewhat complex at times, they remain rather close to easy listening genre at all times. As the music on this album is soothing, the lyrics are more thought provoking the tracks are related to individual journeys as well as the society at large.

Also the production on this album is top-notch. The sounds are atmospheric and rather clear. The mastering has been handled with proficiency as well.

"We all are emotional creatures" as Thorne puts it in his stunning debut album. There's also a second part to his story, which should be a great album judging from the work currently at hand. "Emotional Creatures: Part One" is definitely recommended to all listeners of softer melodic rock and progressive rock.

Release date: April 25th, 2005

Visit Artist's Website

- MAGE (April 23rd, 2005)


Thorne, Steve: Acoustic Guitars, Nylon Guitar, Fretless Bass, Lead Vocals,
Backing Harmonies, Keyboards, Electric Guitars, Percussion, Bass Pedals,
Sound Effects, 12-string Guitar, Samples

Cook, Paul: Military Snare, Drums (appears on Tracks 1, 3 & 8)
Orford, Martin: Music Box, Flute, Keyboards (appears on Tracks 1 & 2)
Cottrell, Arnie: Mandolin (appears on Tracks 2 & 9)
Levin, Tony: Bass and Chapman Stick (appears on Tracks 3 & 8)
D'Virgilio, Nick: Drums (appears on Tracks 4, 5 & 6)
Chandler, Gary: End Electric Guitar on 'Ten Years' and Guitar Solo on 'Gone'
Downes, Geoff: Keyboards, Hammond Organ Solo on 'Last Line'
Allen, Liz: Backing Vocals (appears on Tracks 5 & 9)
Aubrey, Rob: Bass Pedals, Loops on 'Julia'
Christey, Steve: Drums (appears on Tracks 7 & 10)
Jowitt, John: Rickenbacker Bass, Fretless Bass on 'Gone'
Producer: Aubrey, Rob & Thorne, Steve
Mixing by: Unavailable
Mastering by: Unavailable
Thorne, Steve - Emotional Creatures: Part One  CD  Cover Image
01. Here They Come!
02. God Bless America
03. Well Outta That
04. Ten Years
05. Last Line
06. Julia
07. Therapy
08. Every Second Counts
09. Tumbleweeds
10. Gone
11. Goodbye

Length: 52:59
  by rating
  by date
  privacy policy
  terms of service