#  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z  Å  Ä  Ö    ALL




Year: 2005
Format: CD
Label: InsideOut
Genre: [Progressive Rock/Folk]
Overall Rating: 9.0
Music: 9.0
Production: 9.0

Thirty years ago one of the current progscene's engrossing acts was formed by keyboardist Hans Lundin and Flower Kings guitarist Roine Stolt - the band was Kaipa, which actually was the leading Scandinavian progressive band of the 70's. Nonetheless, the band had a hiatus of 20 years and didn't release their remarkable InsideOut debut album "Notes from the Past" until 2002. Their new album is titled as "Mindrevolutions" and features great performances by Morgan Ågren (Zappa) on drums, Jonas Reingold (Flower Kings, The Tangent) on bass as well as Aleena and Patrik Lundström (Ritual) on vocals. In total, it's the eighth Kaipa album.

The music on Mindrevolutions is very similar to Kaipa's previous albums, although this time Lundin has focused more on memorable melodies... for example, themes are often recurring and there aren't too many sections that appear only once on the album. Therefore, this album remains surprisingly easy listening progressive rock album but it has depth to it as well. With ensuing listens the listener finds something new on this record each time he/she gives it a spin. Especially this holds true for the title track, which is a 26-minute epic and also the most progressive song in terms of song structure on this album.

The production on this album has been carried out professionally. Hans Lundin and Roine Stolt themselves have taken care that the sounds on this record are exactly the way they've intended. Atmospheric yet precise, the sounds guide the listener through the rich harmonies and melodies featured on this album.

All in all, Kaipa's Mindrevolution is a very good progrock album featuring Swedish folk melodies in the vein of The Flower Kings and the like. This is a must-have album for the fans of Kaipa as well as everyone who enjoys his prog with soothing melodies rather than ridiculous gimmickry.

Release date: May 30th, 2005 (Europe) and June 7th, 2005 (USA)

Visit Artist's Website

- MAGE (May 28th, 2005)

« back

Lundin, Hand: Keyboards & Vocals
Stolt, Roine: Electric & Acoustic Guitars, Percussion & Vocals
Ågren, Morgan: Drums
Reingold, Jonas: Fretless & Yamaha Custom Basses
Lundström, Patrik: Vocals
Aleena: Vocals
Producer: Lundin, Hans & Stolt, Roine
Mixing by: Unavailable
Mastering by: Unavailable
Kaipa - Mindrevolutions  CD  Cover Image
01. The Dodger
02. Electric Leaves
03. Shadows of Time
04. A Pair of Sunbeams
05. Mindrevolutions
06. Flowing Free
07. Last Free Indian
08. Our Deepest Inner Shore
09. Timebomb
10. Remains of the Day

Length: 79:16
  by rating
  by date
  privacy policy
  terms of service