#  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z  Å  Ä  Ö    ALL

Book of Reflections


Book of Reflections

Year: 2004
Format: CD
Label: Lion Music
Genre: [Neo-classical Progressive Metal]
Overall Rating: 7.5
Music: 7.5
Production: 7.5

Book of Reflections is a new project of Lion Music artists. There are many 'quite well-known' artists such as Hubi Meisel, Rusty Cooley and Vitalij Kuprij contributing to this project. Their style is Progressive Metal, although this album isn't that progressive. Songs are melodical, progressive (to some extent) and occasionally very apposite. I'd say this album is neo-classical prog metal (at least the solos seem to be inspired by Yngwie Malmsteen).

Song material on this album is quite diverse, songs don't start to repeat themselves. For example, 'You're Not Alone' has vocals that remind me of Virgin Steele's David DeFeis. Then there are songs that are average metal, and there's also some ballads. For example, 'Let it Go' is a ballad and it's actually one of the highlights on this album. None of the songs on this album is bad, there are just some songs that are mediocre. Those mediocre songs lower the musical rating of this album.

Production on this album is quite good. The mix is good, but unfortunately in mastering they have used sometimes too high levels — the result is distortion at some parts. Fortunately this happens seldom, so it doesn't annoy too much. To be exact, distortion occurs only in some of the vocal parts and guitar solos.

All in all, this album is good, still it could be better (although it's entertaining as such). While some of the songs are very good, there are also some songs that are 'fill'. I'd recommend this album to the fans of neo-classical metal, Stratovarius and Symphony X fans may like it as well. So if you're a fan of neo-classical prog metal, this album is worth considering.

- MAGE (07.07.2004)

« back

Engberg, Andy: Lead and Backing Vocals
Holm, Micke: Lead Vocals
Meisel, Hubi: Lead Vocals
Stjärnfelt, Torgny: Backing Vocals, Additional Lead Vocals on 'You're Not Alone'
Mattson, Mikaela: Backing Vocals on 'Let it Go'
Mattson, Lars Eric: Guitar, Bass and Keyboards
Cooley, Rusty: Guitar
Kuprij, Vitalij: Keyboard Solos
Sledgehammer, Eddie: Drums
Producer: Unavailable
Mixing by: Unavailable
Mastering by: Unavailable
Book of Reflections - Book of Reflections  CD  Cover Image
01. Phoenix
02. Guardian of Time
03. Going Through the Motions
04. Tearing Down
05. Slippin' Away
06. Only One Truth
07. Child of the Rainbow
08. You're Not Alone
09. Book of Reflections
10. Let it Go
11. Blood from a Stone (European Bonus Track)
  by rating
  by date
  privacy policy
  terms of service