#  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z         ALL

Velvet Revolver


Contraband: Tour Edition

Year: 2005
Format: CD
Label: RCA/SonyBMG
Genre: [Rock]
Overall Rating: 8.0
Music: 8.0
Production: 8.5

Contraband which was released in June 2004 was the debut album of a new super group called Velvet Revolver. Expectations were high on the album since the band had such a well-known musicians like former singer of Stone Temple Pilots, Scott Weiland, and three former Guns n' Roses members; guitarist Slash, bassist Duff McKagan and drummer Matt Sorum. People who were expecting a new GNR album were somewhat disappointed but open minded fans of rock liked the album a lot. Now SONY BMG has released a repackage of the album that includes a new bonus disc having three additional songs and three videos in Quicktime format.

The first disc is identical to the original Contraband CD and contains the same thirteen songs. If you have not heard them before, you should in case you like modern rock. The fans of GNR and Stone Temple Pilots are sure to experience some dejavu feelings. There is a good mix of some harder and softer songs on the disc (about half of the songs are very good).

The bonus disc has three songs that were not included on the original album. Both 'Surrender' and 'No More No More' are good but not stellar songs. In addition, there is an acoustic version of 'Fall to Pieces' which should have been on the original album (I'm a fan of acoustic music). The videos of the songs that have been released as singles is also a nice bonus. However, Quicktime is not the best format since it is not playable on DVD players.

The production of this repackaged album is good. Therefore, if you like modern rock and don't have Contraband yet, you should consider this album the next time you buy CDs. In case you already have the original album, then this repackaged album doesn't offer much more.

Visit Artist's Website

- MIZU (July 24th, 2005)


Weiland, Scott: Vocals
Slash: Guitar
McKagan, Duff: Bass
Sorum, Matt: Drums
Kushner, Dave: Guitar
Grean, Douglas: Guest Keyboards on tracks 6, 10 and 13
Producer: Abraham, Josh & Velvet Revolver
Mixing by: Wallace, Andy & Young Chris
Mastering by: Marino, George
Velvet Revolver - Contraband: Tour Edition  CD  Cover Image
First Disc
01. Sucker Train Blues
02. Do It For The Kids
03. Big Machine
04. Illegal i Song
05. Spectacle
06. Fall To Pieces
07. Headspace
08. Superhuman
09. Set Me Free
10. You Got No Right
11. Slither
12. Dirty Little Thing
13. Loving The Alien

Length: 56:55

Bonus Disc
01. Surrender
02. No More, No More
03. Fall To Pieces (Acoustic)

Length: 14:16

Total Length: 71:11

Quicktime Videos on Bonus Disc:
Slither (Video)
Fall To Pieces (Video)
Dirty Little Things (Video)
  by rating
  by date
  privacy policy
  terms of service