#  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z         ALL

Forty Deuce


Nothing to Lose

Year: 2005
Format: CD
Label: Frontiers
Genre: [Hard Rock]
Overall Rating: 8.0
Music: 8.0
Production: 8.0

Forty Deuce is Richie Kotzen's (known from Mr. Big and Poison) latest project. He has distinguished himself as an exceptional guitarist throughout the years, but with this group his intention isn't to show-off his tremendous skills... instead the focus is on songwriting. Actually it's pleasant to note that Kotzen has matured as a musician since his early years as a solo artist. In case you've listened to Kotzen's solo records, you have in all likelihood noticed how different his first albums sound compared to his most recent offerings (nowadays Kotzen doesn't shred lightning licks too often).

In the beginning Forty Deuce concentrated on performing live... numerous live performances preceded releasing "Nothing to Lose", which is the debut album of this group. Actually, FD was already formed in 2003 at an after hours party. To give an impression of how passionate the members of this band are, one must point out the immediate songwriting process that followed the founding of this group. Musically Forty Deuce is a hard rock group that places a strong emphasis on chorus, and definitely has an edge to their sound. Their songs have good groove but also melodies are memorable.

The production on this album is somewhat harsh, which seems to suit this record well. Slight background distortion occurs few times, but it isn't too obtrusive. Since the sounds have raw power to them, the mix complements the music quite seamlessly. All in all, Forty Deuce is a group to be aware of.

Release date: August 29th, 2005

Visit Artist's Website

- MAGE (August 29th, 2005)


Kotzen, Richie: Vocals, Guitar
Tamada, Taka: Guitar
Baron, Ari: Bass
Thr3e: Drums
Producer: Kotzen, Richie; Tamada, Taka & Baron, Ari
Mixing by: Unavailable
Mastering by: Unavailable
Forty Deuce - Nothing to Lose  CD  Cover Image
01. Intro
02. Oh My God (I Fucked Up Again)
03. I Still
04. Start It Up
05. Complicated
06. Say
07. Heaven
08. Stand Up
09. Next to Me
10. Standing in the Rain
11. Wanted
12. Nothing to Lose
13. Multimedia Track (Video)

Length: 40:12 + the video
  by rating
  by date
  privacy policy
  terms of service