#  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z  Å  Ä  Ö    ALL



Sound Over Matter

Year: 2005
Format: CD
Label: Spinefarm
Genre: [Death Metal/Thrash Metal/Orchestral]
Overall Rating: 7.5
Music: 7.5
Production: 8.5

Sound Over Matter is the debut album of Finnish metal band Hevein, although the band was already formed back in 1992. Perhaps the main reason for this has been the difficulty of finding a proper vocalist. Not until October of 2003 did Hevein finally find a full-time vocalist, namely Juha Immonen. When it comes down to describing the music, things get interesting... this isn't your average metal band. What differs Hevein from others is the use of cello and violin. Basically Hevein plays a mixture of death and thrash metal with slightly orchestral sections incorporated within.

Clean vocals and growls take turns on this record depending on the material... this, for one, ensures certain cross-over appeal. Nonetheless, musically "Sound Over Matter" is rather traditional metal album. It doesn't offer any real surprises. However, Max Lilja (ex-Apocalyptica, Tekijä Tuntematon) and Aino Piipari enliven the music by bringing up the atmosphere.

Mikko Karmila mixed this album while Svante Forsbäck took care of mastering. Thereby it isn't surprising this record sounds warm without losing the clarity of stringed instruments. Regardless, some aspects of the mix could have been further honed. For example, at times slight background distortion leaked into the mix.

All in all, Hevein is a welcome addition to the world of metal. It'll be interesting to follow how their sound will evolve throughout the years.

Release date: August 31st, 2005

Visit Artist's Website

- MAGE (August 29th, 2005)

« back

Immonen, Juha: Lead vocals
Hedström, Leif: Guitars, Secondary Vocals
Oksaharju, Alpo: Drums
Koivunen, Tomi: Bass
Piipari, Aino: Violin
Lilja, Max: Cello
Producer: Unavailable
Mixing by: Karmila, Mikko
Mastering by: Forsbäck, Svante
Hevein - Sound Over Matter  CD  Cover Image
01. Break Out the Hammers
02. Worth Fighting for
03. iOta
04. As Far As the Eye Can See
05. Only Human
06. Bleed the Day
07. Beg to Differ
08. Hold Fast
09. New Hope
10. Last Drop of Innocence

Length: 44:49
  by rating
  by date
  privacy policy
  terms of service