#  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z         ALL

Portnoy, Mike


Prime Cuts

Year: 2005
Format: CD
Label: Mascot Records
Genre: [Experimental Progressive Rock]
Overall Rating: 7.5
Music: 8.5
Production: 8.5

Mike Portnoy is without a doubt one of today's most prominent drummers. Whether he performs Dream Theater material or something from his numerous side-project contributions, his ostentatious style shines through. Now Magna Carta's Prime Cuts series has proceeded to showcase Mike Portnoy's talent. The idea behind Prime Cuts is to provide a collection of tracks that should be able to capture the essence of the musician. Previously Magna Carta has released respective Prime Cuts of Terry Bozzio, Tony Levin and Steve Morse among others.

Mike Portnoy's Prime Cuts consists of six Magna Carta releases (namely "Sonic Residue from Vapourspace", "Working Man (Tribute to Rush)", "Encores, Legends & Paradox (Tribute to ELP)", "Liquid Tension Experiment", "Liquid Tension Experiment 2" and "Rama 1"). Although the material on this compilation is of rather high-quality, there are few sections that aren't that good musically. In addition, the value of this release might not be good enough if one has already bought most of the aforementioned Magna Carta releases... for example, there are only two tracks that I hadn't heard before (Mad March and Vapourspace Remix of LTE's Another Dimension).

This compilation was mastered at Absolute Audio by Jim Brick. Sonically there's not much to remark... the sounds are mostly to the point. Regardless, few tracks had slight background distortion (it's sporadic though, and occurs very seldom).

In case you yet haven't checked out the LTE CDs and few other side projects of Portnoy's, it might be good idea to start out safely by acquiring this compilation. Nonetheless, if there are only couple of tracks you haven't heard yet, you might be better off buying the original CDs with the tracks in question.

Visit Artist's Website

- MAGE (September 4th, 2005)


Portnoy, Mike: Drums & Percussion on All Tracks

Iseda, Toshi: Guitar on "Mad March"
Keneally, Mike: Guitar on "Mad March"
West, Andy: Bass on "Mad March"
Levin, Tony: Chapman Stick, Bass and NS Upright Bass on
Tracks 2, 3, 5 & 9
Petrucci, John: Guitars on Tracks 2, 3 & 9
Rudess, Jordan: Keyboard on Tracks 2, 3 & 9
Gardner, Trent: Vocals and Keyboards on "Endless Enigma"
Gardner, Wayne: Bass on "Endless Enigma"
Downes, Geoff: Lead Synth Solo on Outro of "Endless Enigma"
Bach, Sebastian: Lead Vocals on "Working Man"
E.Lee, Jake: Lead Guitar on Tracks 6 & 7
Sheehan, Billy: Bass  on Tracks 6 & 7
Allman, Brendt: Rhythm Guitar  on Tracks 6 & 7
LaBrie, James: Lead Vocals on "By-Tor and the Snow Dog"
Gage, Mark: Remixing and Producing "Another Dimension
(Vapourspace Remix)"
Producer: Morticelli, Peter & Varney, Mike
Mixing by: Unavailable
Mastering by: Brick, Jim
Portnoy, Mike - Prime Cuts  CD  Cover Image
01. Mad March
02. Freedom of Speech
03. Acid Rain
04. Endless Enigma
05. Chris & Kevin's Excellent Adventure
06. Working Man
07. By-Tor and the Snow Dog
08. Another Dimension (Vapourspace Remix)
09. Three Minute Warning Edit

Length: 57:54
  by rating
  by date
  privacy policy
  terms of service