#  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z  Å  Ä  Ö    ALL

Misery Inc.


Random End

Year: 2006
Format: CD
Label: Firebox
Genre: [Death Metal]
Overall Rating: 7.5
Music: 7.5
Production: 7.5

Blending melodic vocals with death growls seems to be the trend of today. Actually it isn't that surprising, since we all know how great it is to get best of both worlds. Depending on singers' voices, the crossover is more or less successful - Finland's Misery Inc. pulls it off quite convincingly. The group was formed in October 2001, and their debut album saw its release in 2003 by ZYX Music. In the summer 2005 the band signed a deal with Firebox Records, and now they proudly present their second album titled as "Random End".

Musically Random End features melancholic death metal with gripping riffs and eye-catching vocals. Since the band's original plan of playing music without lead guitars turned out to be fairly boring, Misery Inc. decided to introduce guitar leads on their new material - they have laid down some nice sinuous leads here and there.

Random End was mixed at Sonic Pump Studios by Nino Laurenne & Aksu Hanttu. Mastering, on the other hand, was handled by Chartmakers' Svante Forsbäck. The result is quite an average, good sounding record. The direction the band is heading towards is good, and with a bit more work they'll likely achieve a remarkable career in music. Currently their music still needs a bit more honing - there are a lot of good ideas, but the overall impression is slightly discrete (few songs just didn't cut it). With a bit more work, this album could have been awesome. Nonetheless, Random End is a good album with its clear highlights, and definitely worth your attention if you like crossover of death and traditional metal.

Visit Artist's Website

- MAGE (March 24th, 2006)

« back

Näveri, Jules: Vocals
Mankinen, Niko: Vocals
Tolonen, Janne: Guitar
Ylämäki, Teemu: Guitar
Heikinheimo, Aki: Bass
Kauppinen, Joonas: Drums
Producer: Hanttu, Aksu
Mixing by: Laurenne, Nino & Hanttu, Aksu
Mastering by: Forsbäck, Svante
Misery Inc. - Random End  CD  Cover Image
01. Hymn for Life
02. Fallen Rage
03. Further/Deeper
04. Yesterday's Grave
05. Apologies Denied
06. Cyanide
07. Source of Fatal Addiction
08. Greed Rules the World
09. Truth
10. No Excuse for Weakness
11. …Out of Here Alive

Length: 41:09
  by rating
  by date
  privacy policy
  terms of service