#  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z         ALL

Fireball Ministry


Their Rock Is Not Our Rock

Year: 2006
Format: CD
Label: Century Media
Genre: [Hard Rock]
Overall Rating: 7.0
Music: 6.5
Production: 8.0

Fireball Ministry's music has been hailed all over the world, so I decided to give a listen to their latest opus to see what's all the fuzz about... carrying the title of Their Rock Is Not Our Rock, I can only wonder if the band has had tongue-in-cheek while coming up with the title or not. Anyway, Fireball Ministry plays traditional hard rock with slight resemblance to Ozzy's early production.

Perhaps one of the most distinctive features of Fireball Ministry's music is the vocalist's gruff performance, which fits well over the music. In addition, the obligatory cowbell can be found on The Broken, which brought a smile to my face (you simply have to have cowbell on rock music ;) Nevertheless, the overall impression of this record remains rather flat. There isn't much innovativeness to be found on "Their Rock Is Not Our Rock" - instead, the music relies on safe basic solutions. Thus this record doesn't manage to impress me wholeheartedly, since it feels as if I've already heard this all before.

The sounds on this record are rather good, which doesn't surprise me at all... after all, this album was produced by Nick Raskulinecz, the producer of Foo Fighter's Grammy-winning "One By One" among others. Nonetheless, some distorted noise leaks into the mix every now and then, but it has been masked quite well. All in all, this album sounds fairly assertive. In case you're searching for good, old-time hard rock, Fireball Ministry's Their Rock Is Not Our Rock may just be what you're after.

Visit Artist's Website

- MAGE (March 28th, 2006)


Rota, James A.: Guitars, Vocals
Burton, Emily J.: Guitars, Backing Vocals
Chow, Johnny: Bass
Oreshnick, John: Drums
Producer: Raskulinecz, Nick
Mixing by: Unavailable
Mastering by: Unavailable
Fireball Ministry - Their Rock Is Not Our Rock  CD  Cover Image
01. It Flies Again
02. Sundown
03. The Broken
04. In the End
05. Hellspeak
06. Two Tears
07. Under the Thunder
08. Spill the Demons
09. Rising from the Deep
10. Save the Saved

Length: 43:52
  by rating
  by date
  privacy policy
  terms of service