#  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z         ALL

Threat Signal


Under Reprisal

Year: 2006
Format: CD
Label: Nuclear Blast
Genre: [Modern Extreme Metal/Screamo/Thrash Metal/Melodic Death Metal]
Overall Rating: 8.0
Music: 8.0
Production: 8.5

Nuclear Blast has once again signed a group from Garage Band... I remember giving a listen to Threat Signal's Rational Eyes on Garage Band in February, and actually thought that the group has potential. Much to my surprise, the band actually had already signed a contract with Nuclear Blast back then, so I began wondering when they would release their full-length album. After two months of actually discovering this group, I finally received the promo, which I've listened every now and then. Now with the release date closing in, I decided to write my thoughts about their album Under Reprisal.

Musically Threat Signal plays a modern blend of extreme metal with screamo and thrash metal influences. Imagine a mixture of Meshuggah, Soilwork and Shadows Fall - that's the first description that sprang to my mind while listening to this record. So you may await catchy yet groovy attitude metal with dominating screamo vocals along with the clean verses taking turn every once in a while. In addition there are few fairly eloquent guitar solos here and there. However, one drawback of the material is actually the excessive steadiness of the quality - at times it feels as if they play the same riffs over and over again, which makes repetitive listening of this album quite a ponderous task.

Threat Signal's music was rather well-produced already before they signed a record contract, but naturally Nuclear Blast arranged the material extra oomph it needed. Now the music sounds as powerful as it ever needs to - it's heavy as hell. Overall, Threat Signal's Under Reprisal is a very successful debut album, and definitely worth a listen if you're into the extreme breed of metal.

Release date: May 26th, 2006

Visit Artist's Website

- MAGE (May 22nd, 2006)


Mcknight, Kyle: Guitar
Howard, Rich: Guitar
Howard, Jon: Vocals
Bressette, Marco: Bass
Parfitt, George: Drums
Producer: Wolbers, Christian Olde
Mixing by: Unavailable
Mastering by: Unavailable
Threat Signal - Under Reprisal  CD  Cover Image
01. Rational Eyes
02. As I Destruct
03. One Last Breath
04. Seeing Red
05. A New Beginning
06. Counter Balance
07. Inane
08. Now
09. Faceless
10. Haunting
11. When All Is Said and Done

Length: 47:08
  by rating
  by date
  privacy policy
  terms of service