#  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z         ALL

Eternal Tears of Sorrow


Before the Bleeding Sun

Year: 2006
Format: CD
Label: Spinefarn
Genre: [Melodic Death Metal]
Overall Rating: 7.0
Music: 7.0
Production: 6.5

If one asks to name some Finnish death metal groups, I'm sure ETOS springs to mind along with Children of Bodom and the like. Before the Bleeding Sun is already the group's fifth release, though it has taken quite long to surface - their previous album "A Virgin and a Whore" was released back in 2001.

The album opener isn't special in any ways, and the second track is only slightly better. However, the third track "Red Dawn Rising" already shows a significant improvement with clean and harsh vocals taking turns, and also female vocals are featured on this song. Basically Eternal Tears of Sorrows have almost managed to compose an ever-improving album. As the album proceeds, the songs seem to improve (for the most part) and the listener really can enjoy his/her journey through the soundscapes. I reckon one could say that this new release from ETOS is perhaps their most commercial undertaking so far (the group has drifted away from their "undergroundish" roots).

Production on Before the Bleeding Sun is quite basic - the sounds are ok, but there's nothing breathtaking about the mix. The instrumentation could have sounded better in some ways, actually. For example, the synths are a tad cheap-sounding, and instead of being fuzzy, the guitar tone should have been more growly. In spite of all, ETOS' new record is rather good melodic death metal album that should appeal to the fans of the band. Regardless, some details could have been honed here and there to make this album stand out more.

Visit Artist's Website

- MAGE (June 11th, 2006)


Tolsa, Janne: Keyboards
Sankala, Petri: Drums
Vetelinen, Altti: Vocals, Bass
Ruuth, Risto: Lead Guitar
Puolakanaho, Jarmo: Guitar
Producer: Unavailable
Mixing by: Unavailable
Mastering by: Unavailable
Eternal Tears of Sorrow - Before the Bleeding Sun  CD  Cover Image
01. Sweet Lilith of My Dreams
02. Another Me
03. Red Dawn Rising
04. Upon the Moors
05. Sakura No Rei
06. Sinister Rain
07. Lost Rune of Thunder
08. Tar Still Flows
09. Angelheart, Ravenheart (Act I: Before the Bleeding Sun)

Length: 43:09
  by rating
  by date
  privacy policy
  terms of service