#  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z  Å  Ä  Ö    ALL

Beautiful Sin


The Unexpected

Year: 2006
Format: CD
Label: AFM
Genre: [Modern AOR/Metal/Classical]
Overall Rating: 7.0
Music: 7.0
Production: 7.0

Who would have guessed that Uli Kusch ends up forming a new band, fronted with Belgian singer Magali Luyten whose demo-CD Uli produced back in 2002? I, for one, didn't see this coming. Other member of Beaturiful Sin include Pagan's Mind guitarist Jörn Viggo Lofstad, Steinar Krokmo and Masterplan keyboardist Axel Mackenrott. Unsurprisingly they play powerful metal with a blend of modern AOR. However, Magalina's voice managed to surprise me - she's a husky voiced female, and her singing style is slightly reminiscent to that of Jörn Lande's - so Beautiful Sin isn't close to the typical female-fronted metal groups.

The music on Beautiful Sin's debut "The Unexpected" is rather traditional metal with a hint of AOR. Regardless, the material manages to surprise the listener at times. For example, "Brace for Impact" sounded a bit similar to what Vangelis would play. On the other hand, the last track "The Beautiful Sin" offers a pleasant composition bordering classical music. Nevertheless, for the most part the material is similar to that of Masterplan's and Pagan's Mind's (for example, Lost could have been on a Pagan's Mind album).

The production on this album is rather good, though some sounds could have been a bit better. Overall, Beautiful Sin is a plenty good enough sideproject of Kusch's - it got me waiting their further releases with slight interest.

Visit Artist's Website

- MAGE (June 18th, 2006)

« back

Luyten, Magali: Vocals
Mackenrott, Axel: Keyboards
Lofstad, Jörn Viggo: Guitars
Krokmo, Steinar: Bass
Kusch, Uli: Drums
Producer: Unavailable
Mixing by: Unavailable
Mastering by: Unavailable
Beautiful Sin - The Unexpected  CD  Cover Image
01. Lost
02. This Is Not the Original Dream
03. Take Me Home
04. I'm Real
05. The Spark of Ignition
06. Closer to My Heart
07. Give Up Once for All
08. Brace for Impact
09. Pechvogel (Unlucky Fellow)
10. Metalwaves
11. The Beautiful Sin (Instrumental)

Length: 39:32
  by rating
  by date
  privacy policy
  terms of service