#  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z         ALL

Lacrimas Profundere


Filthy Notes for Frozen Hearts

Year: 2006
Format: CD
Label: Napalm
Genre: [Gothic Rock]
Overall Rating: 7.0
Music: 6.5
Production: 8.0

Lacrimas Profundere's fifth album "Filthy Notes for Frozen Hearts" is ready, and it's better than your average gothic rock record. This sextet was formed back in 1993 with one goal in mind - playing rock-oriented songs dealing with melancholy, hope and aggression. According to their producer, this group "has an immense potential to become very successful - even more successful than HIM". In my view, this shouldn't be too unachievable, since HIM is way too overrated.

The song material on this record is catchy gothic rock influenced by the minimalism of the avant-garde movement of the seventies. Stylistically the music is somewhere in-between groups such as Sisters of Mercy, Type O Negative, Paradise Lost, Tiamat, the 69 Eyes, and HIM. While this is rather enjoyable album to listen to, it could have been better. Unfortunately there's dearth of diversity on this record - the material is fairly monotonous, which makes repetitive listening of this album somewhat dreary. However, there are fortunately some exceptions... one of these bright highlights on this record is, for example, "Short Glance".

This album was produced by John Fryer (Paradise Lost, Nine Inch Nails, Depeche Mode, Cradle of Filth, and HIM among others). Sounds are, for the most part, to the point, which isn't that surprising knowing Fryer's experience. Overall, Lacrimas Profundere's latest effort is quite appealing gothic rock album that will please most fans of the genre.

Release date: August 29th, 2006 (USA) - already released in Europe

Visit Artist's Website

- MAGE (July 30th, 2006)


Nikolas, Oliver: Lead & Clean Guitars
Christopher: Vocals
Christian: Keys
Fuhre: Drums
Tony: Guitars
Daniel: Bass
Producer: Fryer, John
Mixing by: Fryer, John
Mastering by: Jussila, Mika
Lacrimas Profundere - Filthy Notes for Frozen Hearts  CD  Cover Image
01. My Velvet Little Darkness
02. Again It's Over
03. Not to Stay
04. No Dear Hearts
05. Short Glance
06. Filthy Notes
07. Sweet Caroline
08. An Irresistable Fault
09. To Love Her on Knees
10. Sad Theme for a Marriage
11. Should
12. My Mescaline
13. Shiver (Digipack Bonus Track)
14. Again It's Over Video
15. Again It's Over - Making of Video

Length: 47:24 + the videos
  by rating
  by date
  privacy policy
  terms of service