#  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z         ALL

Foo Fighters


Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace

Year: 2007
Format: CD
Label: RCA/Sony BMG
Genre: [Rock]
Overall Rating: 7.5
Music: 7.5
Production: 8.0

The title Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace could easily lead the listener to think Foo Fighter's sixth album is mellow. However, this is far from the truth, as the band showcases their diversity throughout the record. Altough at times they have softer songs, also some heavier tracks with stomping rhythms are offered. Unfortunately, the album loses some of its appeal in the longer run, especially due to some fairly mediocre tracks.

As a whole this album sounds rather solid. One song, however, doesn't quite fit to the record... it's an instrumental track Dave Grohl wrote after meeting a survivor of the 2006 mine collapse in Tasmania. While this song, Ballad of the Beaconsfield Miners, features some nice fingerpicking by the guest guitarist Kaki King, it sounds quite separate from the rest of the album.

The production on this record was handled by Gil Norton, who last time worked with FF on their second album "The Colour and the Shape". As expected, the sounds are apt, and overall impression of this album is fairly positive.

Buy this release from Amazon

Visit Artist's Website

- MAGE (October 25th, 2007)

"The Pretender" video:


Grohl, Dave: Vocals, Rhythm Guitar, Drums & Piano on Tracks 8, 10 & 12
Shiflett, Chris: Lead Guitar & Backing Vocals
Mendel, Nate: Bass
Hawkins, Taylor: Drums & Percussion, Backing Vocals & Piano on "Summer's End"

Hester, Drew: Percussion on Tracks 2, 4, 5, 7 & 8
Jaffee, Rami: Keyboards on Tracks 2, 3, 4, 5 & 11 & Accordion on "Ballad of the
Beaconsfield Miners"
Kearns, Brantley Jr.: Fiddle on "Statues"
King, Kaki: Guitar on "Ballad of the Beaconsfield Miners"
Smear, Pat: Guitar on "Let It Die"
Strings by the Section Quartet
Producer: Norton, Gil
Mixing by: Costey, Rich
Mastering by: Gardner, Brian
Foo Fighters - Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace  CD  Cover Image
01. The Pretender
02. Let It Die
03. Erase/Replace
04. Long Road to Ruin
05. Come Alive
06. Stranger Things Have Happened
07. Cheer Up, Boys (Your Make Up Is Running)
08. Summer's End
09. Ballad of the Beaconsfield Miners
10. Statues
11. But, Honestly
12. Home 

Length: 51:12
  by rating
  by date
  privacy policy
  terms of service