#  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z  Å  Ä  Ö    ALL




Year: 2008
Format: CD
Label: Sakara
Genre: [Melodic Thrash Metal]
Overall Rating: 8.0
Music: 8.0
Production: 8.0

Straightforward and melodic with no-questions-asked mentality, Diablo is back with a strong yet in certain ways already a tad too familiar release. Though there's a saying 'if it ain't broken, don't fix it', I personally was hoping for a slightly more daring and musically adventurous metal release from this talented Finnish metal group. Nonetheless, don't get me wrong, their latest effort can be seen as a step forward from their previous album Mimic47... however, it's not the leap I was expecting them to take.

Music on Icaros relies strongly on familiar Diablo traits - heavy alluring riffs and sinuous hook-driven guitar leads backed with strong groovy beats, yet this time around the use of keyboards has been introduced to bring more atmospheric flavour to their compositions. This, for one, is a good change though still quite a sparse one and leaves much to wish for regarding diversity.

Production on Icaros is as strong as ever, and even musically the only weakness is perhaps the too steady quality without any clear distinctive highlights... Icaros is one of those albums that enjoys a lot of playing time in your CD player, yet the material won't have the same impact as before. All in all, Icaros is a good metal release - quite possibly the band's finest till date. The hooks are very catchy, yet they leave listener wanting more. Hopefully on their further releases Diablo dares to explore more new ground to expand their current fanbase and provide us a bit more inventive record.

Visit Artist's Website

- MAGE (September 10th, 2008)

"Icaros" video:

« back

Nygård, Rainer: Rhythm Guitar & Vocals
Utriainen, Marko: Lead Guitar
Malmberg, Heikki: Drums
Virtanen, Aadolf: Bass & Backing Vocals

Hietala, Johanna: Kantele in "Trail of Kings"
Kovero, Esko: News Anchor in "Into the Sea"
Salmela, Tommi "Tuple": Backing Vocals
Ahola, Jarkko: Backing Vocals
Niinimaa, Keijo: Backing Vocals
Leinonen, Sakri: Backing Vocals
Saikkonen, Tuomo: Backing Vocals
Rauhala, Niko: Backing Vocals
Producer: Oittinen, Utriainen & Nygård
Mixing by: Oittinen, Samu
Mastering by: Jussila, Mika
Diablo - Icaros  CD  Cover Image
01. Trail Of Kings
02. Living Dead Superstar
03. Bad Sign
04. Resign From Life
05. Icaros
06. Light Of The End
07. Chagrin
08. Through Difficulties To Defeat
09. Hammer
10. Into The Sea

Length: 45:00
  by rating
  by date
  privacy policy
  terms of service