#  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z         ALL

Judas Priest



Year: 2008
Format: CD
Label: SonyBMG
Genre: [Symphonic Metal]
Overall Rating: 7.5
Music: 7.5
Production: 8.0

Judas Priest takes a daring step and attempts to tackle the concept of Nostradamus, a 16th century prophet, in a record spanning nearly 143 minutes in length. This is the much dreaded symphonic metal concept album of theirs, which was very anticipated release among metal enthusiasts and I have to admit I was also curious regarding how it would sound. Firstly, what surprises me the most are the songs being fairly midpaced throughout the whole album. I, for one, would have expected more sententious and grand compositions but then again those might have easily become far too corny. However, Nostradamus ir fairly intriguing release though it isn't without its flaws.

On this album Priest is reinventing themselves, but sadly the outcome isn't what I was expecting. The song material varies but in the end the album turns out rather generic with midpaced rockers with few forced ballads here and there. Nonetheless, it's somewhat entertaning record to listen to despite becoming stale in the long run. The symphonic arrangements are apt at times, and the album sounds unlike anything Priest has done before so who knows in the end it might grow on me more. All in all, it's a well-produced though perhaps a bit too ambitious undertaking for Priest. It will be interesting to see to which direction Priest will head after this release.

Buy this release from Amazon

Visit Artist's Website

- MAGE (September 12th, 2008)


Halford, Rob: Vocals
Downing, K.K.: Guitars & Synthesized Guitars
Tipton, Glenn: Guitars & Synthesized Guitars
Hill, Ian: Bass Guitars
Travis, Scott: Drums
Producer: Tipton, Glenn & Downing, K.K.
Mixing by: Bauw, Attie
Mastering by: Bauw, Attie
Judas Priest - Nostradamus  CD  Cover Image
Disc 1

01. Dawn of Creation
02. Prophecy
03. Awakening
04. Revelations
05. The Four Horsemen
06. War
07. Sands of Time
08. Pestilence and Plague
09. Death
10. Peace
11. Conquest
12. Lost Love
13. Persecution

Length: 56:02

Disc 2

1. Solitude
2. Exiled
3. Alone
4. Shadows in the Flame
5. Visions
6. Hope
7. New Beginnings
8. Calm Before the Storm
9. Nostradamus
10. Future of Mankind

Length: 46:45
  by rating
  by date
  privacy policy
  terms of service