#  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z  Å  Ä  Ö    ALL

Dawn of Silence


Wicked Saint or Righteous Sinner

Year: 2010
Format: CD
Label: GMR Music Group
Genre: [Heavy / Power Metal]
Overall Rating: 8.5
Music: 8.5
Production: 8.5

From a third party of friends to a full-scale melodic Heavy Metal group, that is the story of Dawn Of Silence from Sweden. After triggering their melodic Metal nature (Iron Maiden influences merely) to their local scene with a string of demos, this band went forward and recorded their first album, Moment Of Weakness, and succeeded on running it through Metal Heaven Records.

After not being able to spread their music due to some difficulties on tours schedules and other administrational stuff, Dawn Of Silence moved on and went on to record their second melodic endeavor, Wicked Saint Of Righteous Sinner. This new recording, released under their new label, GMR Music Group, is a new display of the band’s Heavy Metal / Hard Rock meld at high quality aspects of sound as material.

Dawn Of Silence draw the breath of Iron Maiden (and also some of Edguy and some of Bruce Dickinson’s solo albums) from their lungs, and not just because they were once a Maiden cover group, it’s because just as Maiden played their amazing melodies, so did Dawn Of Silence on the majority of their riffs. The riff passages tend to have similarities to the more modern Maiden melodies (from their last three albums) as the sound production here boosted up the music to new terms of heaviness that are foreign to the Maiden band. Well, you can say that most Maiden influenced bands of Heavy Metal, especially the modern ones, charge up their sound with a bombastic production. In the case of Dawn Of Silence, as on others, it’s all about providing the sweet melodies followed by additional power from beneath them.

Besides being musically close to Maiden, Dawn Of Silence also found their Dickinson / Sammet in the image of one of their guitarists and founder, Patrik Johansson. Johansson is more of a mixture between Dickinson and Tobias Sammet of Edguy / Avantasia. He has the depthy pattern of Bruce yet has some liners and finishing outlines of Sammet. Sometimes, when displaying a recorded section of duel channels, it seems that Sammet and Dickinson sings together in a Metal Gods’ duet. Johansson is the main reason why the choruses on Dawn Of Silence’s songs on the album sound so magical.

Theses sort of choruses, with the astounding melodic verses (both vocals and rhythms), are the winning chips of this album and the band’s Heavy Metal approach. However, as a single limitation, there is the fact the songs are not so different from one another. Beyond their structures, which are rather basic (like verse, chorus, verse, solo, end), the choruses have that capability on being similarly composed (vocal wise mainly). Nevertheless, most of the listeners will live with those as they serve as important pillars of the band’s repertoire.

Wicked Saint Of Righteous Sinner consists of some winning “classics to be” as “In Quest For Life” (great dual channeled vocals), “Crucifire” (no mercy on the heaviness), “Haunted Dreams” and “Masquerade” (total amazement). Those tracks mark the band as a strong modern Heavy Metal team, yet they are also exemplifying them as an 80’s oriented group with an aim to bring the rather catchy side of Metal to the side of ample melodic personality. Behind those true hits, you may experience the other tunes that Dawn Of Silence had to give, the choice is in your hands to feel them.

Visit Artist's Website

Visit Label's Website

- Lior “Steinmetal” Stein (May, 6th 2010)

« back

Johansson, Patrik: Vocals, Guitar
Johansson, Mats: Guitar
Johansson, Pelle: Bass
Edqvist, Torbjörn: Drums
Producer: Kjellgren, Jonas
Mixing by: Kjellgren, Jonas
Mastering by: Kjellgren, Jonas
Dawn of Silence - Wicked Saint or Righteous Sinner  CD  Cover Image
01. Chasing a Ghost
02. Escape the Night
03. Release Me (From Myself)
04. In Quest for Life
05. Cage of Fear
06. Crucifire
07. Away from Heaven
08. Haunted Dreams
09. Shadow of Guilt
10. Masquerade

Length: 43:58
  by rating
  by date
  privacy policy
  terms of service